栉田神社

櫛田神社

栉田神社——福冈最大的参拜神社

日本最南端的主岛九州并不像北部一样拥有那么多古老的神社和寺庙,而这里却有最重要的神社。栉田神社就是其中最为壮观的一个。栉田神社建于西元757,供奉天照大神和素盏呜尊。它是当地至今最为重要的参拜神社,也是日本最有趣的也是福冈最盛大的博多祗园山笠祭典的主会场。

博多祗园山笠在每年的7月1日至15日举行,其最为著名的是追山笠,届时穿着兜裆裤的日本男儿们抬着1吨重的「饰物山笠」在街道上奔跑,气势十足。这个特别的日本节日已有770多年历史,每年吸引着一百多万的游客,使得栉田神社更加名扬四海。

栉田神社周围还有几个小型的神社。在这里,也可观赏到已有千年历史的古银杏。还有据说是蒙古人入侵时的固定石,以及珍贵的天狗面具(日本神话中的动物,拥有长长的鼻子)。神社里还有英语信息单。

联絡

  • 常年开放
  • +81 92-291-2951
  • 日本812-0026福冈县福冈市博多区上川端町1-41
  • 从祗园站步行数分钟即达 ;从博多站到祗园站:搭乘空港地铁线到祗园站(2分钟)
×

Brazil.com – Leaderboard

Kushida Shrine

櫛田神社

Kushida Shrine – Fukuoka's greatest shrine and festival

While Kyushu, Japan's most southern Home Island, doesn't have as many ancient shrines and temples as its northern neighbours, the ones they do have, are important. The Kushida Jinja Shrine is a splendid example. Founded in 757 CE, it is dedicated to the god siblings of Amaterasu and Susanoo. It is by far the most cherished shrine in the area playing host to the Hakata Gion Yamakasa, the biggest festival in Fukuoka and one of the most entertaining of all Japan.

The festival is held from the 1st to the 15th of July and is famous for the Kakiyama, ceremonial floats. These floats weigh around 1000kg and are carried the city by hundreds of men dressed only in loincloths in a race. This uniquely Japanese festival is over 770 years old, and attracts up to one million spectators each year, ensuring the Kushida Shrine's Japan-wide fame.

The shrine has several smaller shrines within its grounds. There is a huge Gingko tree which is said to have been there for over a thousand years. Other showcases include anchor stones are said to be from the Mongol invasion and quite a lot of precious masks featuring the Tengu (a Japanese mythological creature with a long nose). English information sheets are available at the shrine.

Contact

  • Always open
  • +81 92-291-2951
  • 1-41 Kamikawabatamachi, Hakata Ward, Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture 812-0026, Japan.
  • A few min walk from Gion Station. From Hakata Station to Gion Station: Take the Kuko Subway Line to Gion Station (2 min).
×